There are over 200 research scholars across the university interested in migration and mobility from a range of disciplines including: English, film studies, geography, history, law, modern languages, music, philosophy, politics, social policy and sociology: See the full list in the University of Bristol Research Portal.

We also work closely with a wide range external members from other Universities, local governments, NGOs and trade unions. If you are not already subscribed please do join our mailing list!

MMB Core Team

Professor Bridget Anderson

MMB Director and Professor of Migration, Mobilities and Citizenship.

Emma Newcombe

Specialist Research Institute Manager: MMB

Dr Emily Walmsley

MMB Administrative Officer

Research Challenge Co-ordinators

Dr Nariman Massoumi 

Lecturer in Film and Television and MMB Challenge Co-ordinatorImagination, belonging, futures

Dr Juan Zhang

Senior Lecturer, Department of Anthropology and Archaeology and MMB Challenge Co-ordinatorTrade, labour, capital

Dr Natasha Carver

Lecturer in International Criminology and MMB Challenge Co-ordinatorBordering, control, justice

MMB Strategic Leads

Ann Singleton

MMB Policy Strategic Lead and Reader in Migration Policy in the School for Policy Studies

Professor Diego Acosta Arcarazo

MMB International Strategic Lead Professor of European and Migration Law

Dr Laurence Publicover

MMB Graduate Studies Strategic Lead and Senior Lecturer in English

Professor Julia O’Connell Davidson

MMB Anti-Racism Strategic Lead and Professor in Social Research

MMB Alumni Ambassadors

Management Group

Professor Diego Acosta University of Bristol Law School
Dr Anita Etale Department of Aerospace Engineering, MMB Early Career Representative
Dr Katie Bales University of Bristol Law School
Dr Joanna Burch-Brown Department of Philosophy
Professor Katharine Charsley School of Sociology, Politics and International Studies
Professor Madhu Krishnan Department of English and Centre for Black Humanities
Dr Jacqueline Maingard Department of Film and Television
Dr Naomi Millner School of Geographical Sciences
Professor Julia O’Connell Davidson School of Sociology, Politics and International Studies
Dr Laurence Publicover Department of English
Ann Singleton School for Policy Studies